Thursday, 23 February 2017 13:33

Who We Are

Written by Lauren A. Tucker

The Environmental Literacy and Outdoor Education Office of Anne Arundel County Public Schools provides interdisciplinary outdoor education for AACPS students and teachers. We integrate environmental literacy and outdoor learning into the AACPS school-based curricula at all grade levels for all students. We are part of the division of Curriculum and Instruction of Anne Arundel County Public Schools. For 50 years we have provided interdisciplinary environmental and outdoor education. Through outreach and our site-based programs, we provide face-to-face instruction to more than 25,000 students and 8,000 adults each school year. In addition, our school-based curricula reach students at all grade levels every year.

Our goals are to

1. Develop and implement a prekindergarten through high school environmental literacy curriculum and programming that align the MSDE Environmental Literacy standards with up-to-date standards in other core content areas.

2. Empower teachers to use the environment and outdoors as a context for learning.

3. Support the AACPS Strategic Plan of Community Involvement and the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement by serving as a community resource for educating and building stewardship among the citizens of Anne Arundel County.

Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center is the headquarters of the Environmental Literacy and Outdoor Education Office. AACPS purchased Arlington Echo in 1971 from the Arlington Presbyterian Church of Baltimore. The 24-acre youth camp was named Arlington Echo because a call from the bluff would echo back from across the Severn River. AACPS had previously rented the property to be used as the “Arlington Echo Outdoor School.” In 1974, the site became known as the “Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center.” Arlington Echo now serves as the outdoor education site for the fourth grade environmental literacy program and the “home base” for the many other programs overseen by EL/OE Office.

Thursday, 23 February 2017 13:30

Partners

Written by Lauren A. Tucker

MAEOE - Maryland Association of Environmental and Outdoor Education

CBF - Chesapeake Bay Foundation

DPW - Department of Public Works, Anne Arundel County

CBT - Chesapeake Bay Trust

NOAA - National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Adminnistration

AMM - Annapolis Maritime Museum

Thursday, 23 February 2017 13:10

50th Anniversary

Written by Lauren A. Tucker

50th Postcard Riverview

Tuesday, 20 August 2013 08:39

Staff

Written by Lauren A. Tucker

Environmental Literacy and Outdoor Education Office

Coordinator


Melanie Parker

mdparker@aacps.org

410-222-3822

 

Administration

Kristie McWilliams
klmcwilliams@aacps.org

 

Arlington Echo 4th Grade Team

410-222-3822

Ted Hall
ehall@aacps.org

Jessica Lechert
jmlechert@aacps.org

Sheen Goldberg
swgoldberg@aacps.org

Anna Youngk
aeyoungk@aacps.org

Jayne Clark
jaclark2@aacps.org

Gussie Maguire
amaguire@aacps.org

Maya Alexander
cont-malexander@aacps.org

Caroline Harper
cont-charper@aacps.org

 

Camp Woodlands Kindergarten Team

410-222-5825

Sean McGuinn
smcguinn@aacps.org

Heather McCarthy
hhmccarthy@aacps.org 

Anna Haley
cont-ahaley@aacps.org

 

 

Chesapeake Connections 6th Grade Team

410-222-3822

Amy Greif
agreif@aacps.org

Eóin Oneill
eoneill@aacps.org

Lauren Jenkins
lajenkins@aacps.org

Mike Magaha
mmagaha@aacps.org

 

Drownproofing 5th Grade Team

410-222-5855

Cathy Bellarin
cbellarin@aacps.org

Henry Reisinger
hreisinger@aacps.org

Nancy Schlegel

Karen Hill

Lory Eng

Julie Wilson

Maureen Rhors

Robin Cobb

 

Environmental Literacy Team

Katy Clemes
kclemes@aacps.org

Tanya Marushak
tmarushak@aacps.org

 

Watershed Stewards Academy

410-222-3831

Suzanne Etgen
setgen@aacps.org

Lara Mulvaney
lmulvaney@aacps.org

Brad Deise
bdeise@aacps.org

Trish Hennessey-Webb
thennessy-webb@aacps.org

Natalia Sanchez
nsanchez@aacps.org

Katherine Foster
cont-kfoster@aacps.org

Tara Mairs
wsaforms@gmail.com

Haley Denton
cont-hdenton@aacps.org

 

 

Food Service

410-222-3822

Misty Cook
mlcook@aacps.org

Elayna Froe

Marlon Barnes

Brandon Holmes

 

Maintenance

410-222-3822

Steve Pickens
spickens@aacps.org

Donna Belcher
dbelcher@aacps.org

Chenille Powell
lcpowell@aacps.org

Melissa Kramer
mdkramer@aacps.org

Health Services

410-222-3822

Heather Winters - Health Assistant
hdwint00@aacounty.org

 

  

Monday, 30 July 2012 10:38

AE Store

Written by Lauren A. Tucker

logoWEBsmall

Pick up an Arlington Echo t-shirt on site and take your memories home with you!

Sunday, 01 March 2009 05:15

About Us

Written by Administrator
Sunday, 30 March 2008 10:34

Contact Us

Written by Administrator
Monday, 18 February 2008 11:58

Dairy Farm | Maryland Sunrise

Written by Administrator
Monday, 18 February 2008 11:58

Center for Applied Technology

Written by Administrator

Directions to the Center of Applied Technology North

800 Stevenson Road           Severn, MD          21122                

 410-969-3100

From Washington DC and points South via Route 50:

 

Take Route 50 to Route 3/301 North towards Baltimore.

Take Route 301 to Route 97 North towards Baltimore.

On Route 97, take exit 12 – New Cut Road.

At the traffic light at the end of the ramp turn left.

At second light (Stevenson Road) turn right.

CATN is approximately ½ mile on the right.

 

 

From Washington DC and points West via Route 295:

 

Take Route 295 North to Route 100 East.

Take Route 100 to Route 97 South towards Annapolis.

On Route 97 take exit 12 – New Cut Road, merge right.

At light turn right onto Stevenson Road.

CATN is about ½ mile on the right.

 

 

From Baltimore and points North via Route 95 and 895:

 

Take Route 95 to Route 895 (the Harbor Tunnel)

After going through the tunnel take the exit for

Route 97 South towards Annapolis.

Take Exit 12 (New Cut Road)

Merge right.  At 1st light turn right (Stevenson Road)

CATN is approx. ½ mile down on the right

 

From the Baltimore Beltway West

 

Take Route 695 to Route 97 South towards Annapolis (Left hand exit)

Take Exit 12 (New Cut Road)

Merge right.  At 1st light turn right (Stevenson Road

CATN is approx. ½ mile down on the right

 

Monday, 18 February 2008 11:58

Arundel Swim Center

Written by Administrator
Page 1 of 2